20/20Proof Albums Of The Year

10. Pharoahe Monch- Desire

pm.jpg

Those who are crowing this as the greatest thing since sliced bread are oblivious to Monch’s true potential. Despite my problems with this record, it does put a lot of other shit to shame. Desire is one of those records you enjoy but resent at the same time.

9. Marco Polo-Port Authority

marco-polo.jpg

This album has a lot of bangers. Port Authority transports me back to the good ol’ days when I walked to my after school job in the freezing cold attempting to work the buttons on my walkman through some thick ass gloves. Eventually I just took off the gloves and dealt with the cold. Marco Polo lets us say “did you hear that new shit?” rather than “remember when?” . Tony Soprano would approve.

8. Prince Po-Saga of the Simian Samurai

princepo.jpg

Prince Po’s newest album is a rarity in hip-hop as it features only one producer, TomC3. The consistency works wonderfully as Prince sounds sharper than ever and delivers the goods. TomC3’s use of Planet of The Apes dialogue in the intro is no coincidence. “Land of Perfect” is cinematic and suspenseful. Only thing missing is Roddy McDowell and Charlton Heston. The best thing about Saga of the Simian Samurai is the lack of fat, as most tracks come in at 3 minutes and under.

7. Little Brother- Getback

littlebrother.jpg

I was never really a Little Brother follower in the past, but after this album I may have to change my perspective. Getback leaves the skip button with little purpose. A head nodder that I have been playing on repeat during morning drives.

6. Sean Price-Jesus Price Superstar

seanprice.jpg

Meat and potatoes. Who the fuck doesn’t like meat and potatoes?

5. Prodigy- Return of the Mac

prodigy.jpg

Many will probably forget this album when it comes to their end of the year top 10 lists due to its early 2007 release. When this shit dropped it was easily the dopest album put out in 07. Sure, Prodigy has lost a step or two and only busts his guns within the confines of the shooting range, but Alchemist brings California wildfire type shit for P to spit on. If Prodigy had been able to step his lyric game up on this album it would have easily been the best album of the year.

4. Devin the Dude-Waiting to Inhale

devin.jpg

Soulful, funky, and hilarious. If you told me 10 years ago that I would one day enjoy a Devin the Dude album more than something that Pharoahe Monch appeared on, I would have looked at you like you lost your damn mind. One of the most entertaining albums I have heard in years with numerous laughter inducing moments. One of a kind shit.

3. Aesop Rock-None Shall Pass

aesop-rock.jpg

It took me a little while to truly appreciate Aesop Rock. None Shall Pass is a dense and murky, yet rewarding experience. At times it feels like you swimming underwater and can’t see anything in front of you. Blockhead’s production pushes boundaries and sets the bar just a tad higher for other producers. This shit gets my ears wide open.

2. Ghostface Killah- The Big Doe Rehab

ghostface.jpg

No complaints here. How does Ghost keep doing it again and again? One of the greatest and most unexpected elements of The Big Doe Rehab is the reinvigorated Method Man. Did he drink some sort of special HP potion? Having wrote him off years ago, it is nice to see him steal the show on “Yolanda’s House,” one of the best tracks of the year. Ghost is the Tony Gwynn of hip hop.

1. Blu & Exile-Below The Heavens

blu.jpg

Talk about a debut. Blu could have easily named his record Longevity as this is one of those classic gems you cross your fingers and wish for. I don’t think I checked for this album until a couple months after its release because at first I thought it was either an R&B record or that Bubbles from the Wire had started a recording career. Thank goodness I wised up. Exile out-wonders 9th wonder while Blu drops rhymes and ideas that should send past their prime cats like Common back to the drawing board.

11 Responses to “20/20Proof Albums Of The Year”

  1. kenan Says:

    thenkyou super

  2. buying wow gold reviews Says:

    Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam remarks? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

  3. cityville tips Says:

    The crux of your writing while appearing reasonable initially, did not really sit properly with me personally after some time. Someplace within the paragraphs you actually managed to make me a believer but just for a while. I still have a problem with your jumps in assumptions and one might do nicely to help fill in those gaps. When you can accomplish that, I could undoubtedly be fascinated.

  4. gold bullion invester Says:

    I actually found an interesting thing not long ago to make money around investigating precious metal gold markets. I believed it was appealing considering that jewelry sector is exploding at present and intensely not everybody are instead utilizing it. goldpartyllc.com

  5. Hermina Grigas Says:

    Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is important and everything. However think of if you added some great images or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this site could definitely be one of the best in its niche. Good blog!

  6. Wikaniko Says:

    With every thing that seems to be building within this area, a significant percentage of opinions are actually somewhat radical. Having said that, I beg your pardon, because I can not subscribe to your whole plan, all be it stimulating none the less. It seems to everyone that your commentary are not totally rationalized and in reality you are yourself not really fully confident of your argument. In any case I did appreciate reading it.

  7. acai berry is a big scam!!! Says:

    Here you can figure out if this is a real scam or not

  8. Momma's dinner Says:

    Why is this page loading this slow? It opened but it was very slow….The site is good otherwise.

  9. apple ipad blog Says:

    I love your blog. It is very interesting. Can you post some other topic?

  10. Facebook Emoticons Says:

    Hi I found your blog by mistake when i was searching Google for this subject, I must tell you your site is definitely helpful I also really like the design, it is cool!

  11. Emerald Steindorf Says:

    I do love the manner in which you have presented this specific issue and it does offer us some fodder for thought. Nonetheless, coming from everything that I have witnessed, I really trust when the actual remarks pack on that people remain on issue and don’t get started upon a soap box of some other news du jour. Anyway, thank you for this excellent piece and even though I can not necessarily agree with it in totality, I respect the point of view.

Leave a Reply

