Can’t Tell Me Nothing

homokw.jpg
After listening to the snippet of Kanye West’s new single “Can’t Tell Me Nothing,” I had great hopes for the full version. Well, the full version has hit the net and I have to say I am a tad disappointed. I have no issue with the production of the track or the use of the sped up sample, which sounds quite eerie and reminded me of the vibe from the DJ Shadow track “Six Days.” Good stuff. However, after Kanye’s initial lines he hits a speed bump and phones in his lines while attempting to justify the fact that he is essentially a bitch.

I have not read the book that Kanye West’s mother wrote, but I imagine it focuses on how great he is and what a great job she did in raising him. Perhaps she should hook up with Lindsay Lohan’s mother, as she comes off as another great enabler of immature and irresponsible behavior. What is scary is that Kanye’s lyrics come across as honest and he seems to be the type who has never apologized for anything in his life. I don’t consider the MTV interview  where he condemned  making fun gays an apology because he simply  realized he was a closet ‘mo.  I imagine it is because he never had a man in his life to kick his ass when he got out of line. The more I listen to this song and think about him, the more irritated I get.

I am convinced that Kanye is simply a mo version of 50 Cent and should simply keep his ass behind the boards. 50 has a similar attitude that revolves around him always being right and attempting to destroy anyone who dares challenge his ultimate truth. Kanye does in a sense the same thing but with much tighter clothes and a limp wrist.

I may have enjoyed the message of this track when I was a rebellious teenager, but now I happen to be a grown man. What 20something, or 30something adult who was raised right thinks that having a spoiled, childish attitude is something to look up to? “Can’t Tell Me Nothing” could break as a huge single because I can picture thousands upon thousands of young high schoolers repeating the hook. It is the essence of rebellion.

What any reasonable adult will recognize is that Kanye’s lyrics and persona are the equivalent of a toddler throwing a tantrum and stomping in the grocery store. The shit just looks ridiculous and makes you squirm as you wait for the mom to whip the child’s ass. Unfortunately for Ye his mother most likely only praised him and told him how gifted he was. Hence his feminine tendencies and amazingly inflated sense of self worth.

I look forward to other rappers hopefully using this beat as I think it doesn’t go overkill with the vocal sample and the sound is extremely thick. I would def love someone from the south to tackle this beat. Perhaps Killer Mike, Outkast, or even Sean Price as the track sounds like something that would have fit right in the middle of Jesus Price Superstar.

4 Responses to “Can’t Tell Me Nothing”

  1. Jeff Says:

    I agree 100 percent. Nice work.

  2. ur a fucking douche bag hater Says:

    read the name bitch

  3. 2020proof Says:

    kanye’s mom?

  4. Listen Says:

    You dont know shit son!

Leave a Reply

