What Have You Done For Me Lately? Return Of The Mac Album Review

Prodigy-Return Of The Mac Album Review
p.jpg
“They wanna write me off/ but my songs are bangers.”

If I would have heard Prodigy spit that line in the last few years I would have laughed out loud. I gotta hand it to Ballerina P though, he has finally released an effort that will stop my hatin’. Return Of The Macis a certified banger from beginning to end. I have to admire P’s resilience and his ability to return with his most consistent effort since The Infamous despite the fact that little kids are constantly stealing his chain, he has to kiss 50’s pinkie ring every morning,  and receives daily disses from rappers and critics alike. He could have easily folded up after the release of Blood Money, which was widely believed to be the final nail in the Mobb Deep coffin.

Luckily, Alchemist’s production has managed to breathe new life into P, who spits like an animal caught in a violent, drug induced haze over a musical background that makes you want to throw a Pam Grier poster up on your wall. Despite the fact that P attempts to mimic his master’s accent a few too many times throughout Return Of The Mac, his sins are forgivable considering the quality of the overall effort. He does not display the lyrical prowess that was displayed on The Infamous, but the bar was set so high on that album it was a near certainty that it would never be touched again.

Don’t get me wrong, I am glad that there is finally some worthwhile material coming out of the Mobb Deep camp, but was Prodigy’s biggest mistake not getting shot and dying after The Infamous?  His death would have easily guaranteed himself a spot amongst the greatest of all time and he wouldn’t have been dissed by Tupac, dissed by Jay-Z, beaten down by Keith Murray, and turned into a shadow of his former self.  If what he spits on Return Of The Mac is true (hah!) then all he is doing these days is sitting in his room all highed up thinkin’ about how is gonna get back on all those cats that used to tease him back in the day.

7 Responses to “What Have You Done For Me Lately? Return Of The Mac Album Review”

  1. CommishCH Says:

    Im glad to see P back with Al and not simply being a G-Unit puppet. What guests are on there? Too much Young Buck, Yayo, etc and I might smash the CD to bits.

  2. todd Says:

    solid album

  3. Janise Elguezabal Says:

    I myself most usually do not post on Blogs, but your Blog forced me to, terrific writing.. just unbelievable!! The contents are different but your blog & Credit Report Free blog are both the best I’ve read to this date. Keep it up.

  4. Michal Kosty Says:

    I usually don’t comment on blogs, however your Blog made me, terrific work.. simply awesome! The content are opposite but your blog & Free Credit Reports blog are definitely both the best I have read to date. Keep it up.

  5. Lyda Volkert Says:

    You made a few fine points there. I did a search on the subject matter and found the majority of people will agree with your blog.

  6. Rex Andrews Says:

    Excellent news it is surely. My friend has been awaiting for this info.

  7. Cleveland Meagher Says:

    I have to show some thanks to the writer for rescuing me from this type of difficulty. As a result of looking out through the world wide web and meeting suggestions which were not powerful, I believed my entire life was gone. Existing minus the approaches to the problems you have resolved by means of your entire article content is a serious case, and the ones which might have in a wrong way affected my entire career if I had not come across your blog. Your own personal natural talent and kindness in handling everything was precious. I don’t know what I would have done if I had not come across such a solution like this. It’s possible to at this moment look ahead to my future. Thanks for your time so much for your reliable and sensible help. I won’t think twice to endorse the blog to anyone who will need assistance about this situation.

Leave a Reply

